Before I Fall 

When we see, on Facebook or so,that a book will be adapted into a movie, we rush to the bookstore. We rush to read the story, so we can be overwhelmed by the words, before the movie takes over our imagination.
One of the facts I absolutely adore about books, is that as we read, the book stops being a series of words.Instead it is like we have fallen into their world, and are watching it through a pensive ( Yay! Harry Potter reference) I love how the words mean something different to everyone. What everyone sees in their minds eye is different. Btw while we are at it, the fact that we ‘see’ without actually seeing, is one of the greatest phenomenon I know. Hey, look I’m off topic again! 

So, we all see characters differently, and when the movie comes out, we suddenly start seeing the actors instead. This makes me a little sad. Also, there is the obvious prospect that they might ruin the story which took over our hearts. 

Having said that,  the second I know that a book is being adapted, I run to pre-book the tickets. Because who’s going to miss that chance?

 

So getting to the actual point, the movie of the book ‘Before I Fall’ is set to hit the theatre, on March 3rd,2017. And it’s time, you pick up this lovely, heart-thrashing book.The concept of this book is so wildly mind blowing.  It gave a new outlook to my perception of death. I love hearing new theories of what happens after death. So this book was absolutely beautiful. 

Samantha ‘Sam’ Kingston, is a regular teenager, in high school. She is one of the ‘ Mean Girls’ or ‘The Plastics’ or whatever we are calling them this year. While she is in a car with her friends, there is an accident and she dies. 

You know ,  when the protagonist dies in the first few pages of the book, that this book is going to be a complete ride.

Sam wakes up the next morning, after her death, and it is the same day. The day she died. She soon realises she is reliving these day she had died. She is stuck in a circle. She has to get out of it. 
She lives the same day, again and again. She makes changes. She does things which surprise her family, friends and even herself. We see her slowly fall in love, with the boy she couldn’t care less about, in the beginning. 

All throughout the book, we know that the end is inevitable. We know there can’t be much of an outcome.  But we wait, and we hope. We hope Sam Kingston makes it out. And she does. 

To find out how she does, well, you’re going to have to give it a read. 

This book, makes us introspect our life, and our self. If we were to die, today, would we be satisfied? Satisfied with how we leave the world. Or would we want to live our life a different way. 

So look inside you.Look inside you and tell me.

Would you be satisfied having to live this day, as your very last? 

12 thoughts on “Before I Fall 

  1. JazzyBlogs says:

    That question you had at the end really got me thinking…I don’t think I would be satisfied if this day was my last. Mostly because I’m planning on spending it watching crap TV😂 But jokes aside, I wouldn’t be satisfied because I haven’t had the chance to do much with my life yet, and I haven’t had the chance to grow up yet and have new experiences.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, Jazzy looks like you have your answer! Make your life good enough for you to be satisfied. It doesn’t even have to be big. Small changes go a long way. Start today. And if you do, lemme know. I’d love to know if I made a difference!

      Liked by 1 person

      • JazzyBlogs says:

        Thank you, and I’ll try my hardest to start today…whoa this post really motivated me! Thanks again, and I’ll let you know how I go😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

